Skip to main content
Workforce LibreTexts

1.1: Description and Objectives

  • Page ID
  • \( \newcommand{\vecs}[1]{\overset { \scriptstyle \rightharpoonup} {\mathbf{#1}} } \) \( \newcommand{\vecd}[1]{\overset{-\!-\!\rightharpoonup}{\vphantom{a}\smash {#1}}} \)\(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \(\newcommand{\id}{\mathrm{id}}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\) \( \newcommand{\kernel}{\mathrm{null}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\range}{\mathrm{range}\,}\) \( \newcommand{\RealPart}{\mathrm{Re}}\) \( \newcommand{\ImaginaryPart}{\mathrm{Im}}\) \( \newcommand{\Argument}{\mathrm{Arg}}\) \( \newcommand{\norm}[1]{\| #1 \|}\) \( \newcommand{\inner}[2]{\langle #1, #2 \rangle}\) \( \newcommand{\Span}{\mathrm{span}}\)\(\newcommand{\AA}{\unicode[.8,0]{x212B}}\)


    This module covers the Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience foundational courses and certifications from the Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA). It is based on a three-part assignment that uses the online FEMA Emergency Management Institute courses and exam certifications that cover the following three topics:

    • IS-860.C: The National Infrastructure Protection Plan, An Introduction
    • IS-913.A: Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience: Achieving Results through Partnership and Collaboration
    • IS-921.A: Implementing Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience


    The focus is on five key subject sectors that the National Infrastructure Protection Plan identifies as “Lifeline” sectors: Energy, Water and Wastewater Systems, Communications, Transportation Systems, and Emergency Services. This module gives students a better understanding of what those assets are, what components are considered “critical,” and how to identify them for entry into the IP Gateway that serves as the single interface through which Department of Homeland Security (DHS) partners can access the department’s integrated infrastructure protection tools and information.


    • Define critical infrastructure, protection, and resilience in the context of the National Infrastructure Protection Plan (NIPP).
    • Describe critical infrastructure in communities and the impact Lifeline sector assets have on a community’s resiliency.
    • Describe the processes that support critical infrastructure security and resilience.
    • Identify strategies and methods for achieving results through critical infrastructure partnerships.
    • Describe the roles and responsibilities of entities such as the DHS, sector-specific agencies, and state, local, tribal, and territorial governments.
    • Discuss common standards bodies, such as the North American Electricity Reliability Council (NAERC) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
    • Understand which certifications are required to protect critical infrastructure.

    1.1: Description and Objectives is shared under a CC BY license and was authored, remixed, and/or curated by LibreTexts.

    • Was this article helpful?